| |

World Cup Hockey 2014

Men's Hockey World Cup 2014

The 2014 Men's Hockey World Cup is the 13th edition of the Hockey World Cup. It will be staged at the Kyocera Stadion in The Hague, Netherlands, from 31 May to 15 June 2014. Netherlands hosts the Men’s Hockey World Cup for the third time having hosted in 1973 and 1998, earlier.

Men's World Cup Hockey

FIH had received bids from The Hague and London for hosting this event. The Hague, Netherlands was selected as the host and the same was announced on November 11, 2010 in the FIH Congress and Forum in Montreux, Switzerland .

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) organises The Hockey World Cup which is an international field hockey competition. It was in 1971 that this tournament was initiated. It has been a quadrennial event, organised so as to fill the gap between the Summer Olympics.

The Hockey World Cup was first envisaged by Pakistan's Air Marshal Nur Khan. The proposal was concurred on October 26, 1969, and adopted by the FIH Council in the meeting held in Brussels on April 12, 1970, deciding to hold the inaugural World Cup in October 1971, in Pakistan.

In view of the then indifferent political scenario between Pakistan and India, the FIH decided to move the tournament elsewhere and shifted the first Hockey World Cup to the Real Club de Polo grounds in Barcelona, Spain.

The FIH has not devised any rules and regulations as regards the number of teams that can participate in the competition. The 1971 Cup featured only ten nations, the smallest World Cup till date. The 1978 Cup was contested by fourteen nations. Sixteen nations took part in the 2002 Cup, the largest World Cup ever. The rest i.e. 9 World Cups involved 12 nations.

The initial three tournaments were biennial. The 1978 Cup was the only tournament played after three years from the preceding tournament. The tournament has been held every four years, starting with 1982.

The host nation and all continental champions from five confederations will be qualified automatically. These teams together with the six highest placed teams at the Semi finals of the 2012–14 FIH Hockey World League, that are not already qualified, totally twelve teams, will compete in this tournament.

1977 onwards, the qualification round has been introduced in the Hockey World Cup. All participating teams play in the qualification round. The teams divided into two or more pools, compete round robin play, for a place in the final tournament. The best two teams are automatically qualified and the rest of the places are decided in playoffs. The final tournament encompasses the continental champions and other qualified teams.

Five countries have ruled this tournament, in the past. Pakistan has been the most dominant team, having won the tournament four times. The Netherlands have won three titles, and Germany and Australia have won two titles each. India won the tournament once.

India conducted The 2010 Hockey World Cup was from February 28 to March 13 at New Delhi's Dhyan Chand National Stadium. Australia won over Germany by 2–1 in the final. This was Australia’s second World Cup title.

Hockey Schedule 2014:

Host country  Netherlands
City  The Hague
Teams  12
Venue(s)  Kyocera Stadion
GreenFields Stadium


Hockey World Cup Qualified Teams:

Dates  Event  Qualifier(s)
Host nation  Netherlands
13–23 June 2013  2012–14 FIH Hockey World League Semifinals   Belgium
 New Zealand
29 June – 7 July 2013  Malaysia Johor Bahru, Malaysia   England
10–17 August 2013  2013 Pan American Cup   Argentina
17–25 August 2013  2013 EuroHockey Nations Championship   Germany
24 August – 1 September 2013  2013 Hockey Asia Cup   Korea
26 September – 5 October 2013  2013 Hockey Africa Cup of Nations 
28 October – 3 November 2013  2013 Oceania Cup