| |

Hockey Men's Junior World Cup 2013

Hockey Mens Junior World Cup 2013

Hockey Junior World Cup Men's 2013 is 10th Edition of the Hockey Junior World Cup for men, Will start from 6th December to 15th December 2013 in New Delhi, INDIA. Total 16 teams will participate in this tournament. For Schedule, Results, Points, Medals, Winners, Teams Stay connected to Total SportsInfo.


Hockey Mens Junior World Cup


International Hockey Federation (FIH) organises The Hockey Junior World Cup which is an international field hockey competition. The tournament was first played in 1979. Ithas been held every four years, since 1985.Contestants will have to be under the age of 21 as on December 31 of the year before the actual tournament is contested.Also, a matching competition for the women's junior teams was started in 1989, which practices the same format as that of men's.

The 10th edition of TheMen's Hockey Junior World Cup is the 2013 Men's Hockey Junior World Cup. It will be hosted between December 6 to December 15 2013 in New Delhi, India.
Each continental federation has been given a share,basing on the FIH World Rankings, for the teams qualified through their junior continental championships. Totally, 16 teams including the host nation will compete in the tournament.

The Junior Hockey World Cup envisages a qualification stage and a final tournament stage. All the teams that participate in the final tournament will contest in the qualification tournament.
All the teams who desire to qualify for the final tournament will have to play in the pertinent continental junior championships. Each continental federation gets at least two finals places. The FIH determines the federations who will receive additional places, if any.

The final tournament will be contested by the continental champions and other qualified teams. In the 2009 tournament, the teams played a round robin league. The two top teams in each group will reach medal round and remaining teams will play for designated positions. The structure of the pools is decided on the basis of the current world rankings.
The Hockey Junior World Cup 2009was the ninth edition of the Hockey Junior World Cup. The tournament was combinedly hostedby Johor Bahru, Malaysia and Singapore from June 7 to June 21 2009. The tournament was contested by 20 teams.  Germany defeated Netherlands in the final to win their fifth Junior World Cup title.

This tournament’s history records indicate that Germany, having won the tournament five times, is the most successful team. The other participating countries, Argentina, Australia, India and Pakistan have won the tournament once.


Hockey Schedule 2013:

Tournament details
Host nation  India
Dates  December 6–15
Teams  16
Venues  New Delhi