| |

Commonwealth Games 2014

The Commonwealth Games is an international, multi-sport competition featuring athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first organised in 1930.These Gameshavetaken placeevery four yearssubsequent to the inception.The Games are popular as the third largest multi-sport event in the world after the Olympic Games and the Asian Games.

The games originally known as the British Empire Games and in 1954,was retitledas the British Empire and Commonwealth Games and the British Commonwealth Games in 1970 and finally as the Commonwealth Games, for the 1978 edition. The Games are managed by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), which also controls the sporting programme and chooses the host cities. One host city is selected for each edition and eighteen cities in seven countries have organised the event so far.

In addition to many Olympic sports, the Commonwealth Games also include some sports that are predominantly played in Commonwealth countries.Such sports include lawn bowls, rugby sevens and netball. Only six teams have taken part in allthe Commonwealth Games. They are Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales. Australia has been the utmostaccomplishing team for eleven games, England for seven and Canada for one.

Even though there are 54 members in the Commonwealth of Nations, 71 teams partake in the Commonwealth Games as a number of British overseas territories, Crown dependencies, and island states contest under their specific flags. The four nations of the United Kingdom – England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland – also assign separate teams.

The quadrennial schedule of the games could not be adhered to, as Second World War disrupted the 1942 Games and the 1946 Games were abandoned.
The three nations that have presented these games for the most number of times are Australia (5), Canada (4) and New Zealand (3).

The 2014 Commonwealth Games, formally the XX Commonwealth Games, will be held in Glasgow, Scotland over a period of 11 days, from 23 July to 3 August 2014. The opening ceremony of the 2014 Commonwealth Games will be held at Celtic Park in Glasgow, while  the closing ceremony will be held at Scotland's national stadium.


Commonwealth Games 2014 Schedule:

Host city  Glasgow, Scotland
Motto  People, Place, Passion
Nations participating  71 Commonwealth Teams
Events  261 in 17 Sports
Opening ceremony  23-Jul-14
Closing ceremony  3-Aug-14
Queen's Baton Final Runner  TBC
Main venue  Hampden Park and Celtic Park


Glasglow Sports Events:


  • Aquatics
    • Diving (10) (details)
    • Swimming (44) (details)
  • Athletics (50) (details)
  • Badminton (6) (details)
  • Boxing (13) (details)
  • Cycling (details)
    • Mountain biking (2)
    • Road (4)
    • Track (17)
  • Gymnastics (details)
    • Artistic gymnastics (14)
    • Rhythmic gymnastics (6)
  • Hockey (2) (details)
  • Judo (14) (details)
  • Lawn Bowls (10) (details)
  • Netball (1) (details)
  • Rugby sevens (1) (details)
  • Shooting (19) (details)
  • Squash (5) (details)
  • Table tennis (7) (details)
  • Triathlon (3) (details)
  • Weightlifting (19) (details)
  • Wrestling (details)
    • Freestyle (14)

Commonwealth Games Medal Table:



Follow Us